About Us
Brief Introduction
Address from the Director
Organization Chart
    Home > About Us > Directors




LIU Maili  



LIU Maili is the present Director of Wuhan Institute of Physics and Mathematics, CAS. He is also Professor and Ph.D. supervisor with research interest in NMR methodology and application in biomedicine, as well as Director of State Key Laboratory of Magnetic Resonance and Atomic and Molecular Physics. He was a visiting scholar at Wellcome Research Laboratories, UK from 1990 to 1991. In October 1996, he received his Ph.D. from the Department of Chemistry, Birkbeck College, the University of London. Upon returning to China, he joined to WIPM in November 1996. He has chaired various scientific research projects, including the Hundred Talents Program of  CAS, the National Science Foundation for Distinguished Youth Scholar  and Key Project of Chinese National Programs for Fundamental Research and Development (973 Program).





CPC Secretary:

ZHAN Mingsheng 



ZHAN Mingsheng received his Master Degree and Ph.D. from Anhui Institute of Optics and Fine Mechanics, CAS in1985 and 1988 respectively, and his post doctorate in the University of Electro-Communications, Japan in 1991. He has served in Wuhan Institute of Physics and Mathematics, CAS since April 1996, as Professor, Ph. D. supervisor, Deputy Director and then Director. During this time, he was senior visiting scholar and EPSRC Senior Fellow at Blackett Laboratory, Imperial College London, and joint research scientist at National Laboratory of Lawrence Berkeley, USA. His research focuses on preparation, control and investigation of coherence of cold atoms.  Scientific Research projects he chaired include the Hundred Talents Program of CAS, and Key Project of Chinese National Programs for Fundamental Research and Development (973 Program). He was elected CPC Secretary of WIPM in December 2007. 




CPC Deputy Secretary 

and Deputy Director: 

XU Tianquan 



XU Tianquan is Deputy Director, CPC Deputy Secretary and Secretary of the Discipline Committee of WIPM. He received his Master degree in horticultural science from Huazhong Agricultural University. From 1992 to 1995, he was Deputy Chief Executive in charge of science and technology of Wufeng Autonomous Country People's Government, Hubei Province. Prior to joining WIPM, he served in Wuhan Botanical Garden, CAS since 1978, with positions including Professor and Deputy Director. He joined to WIPM in November 2007. 










Deputy Director: 

LIU Xiaojun








Deputy Director: 

YU Ming



Printer Text Size: A A A   close
Wuhan Institute of Physics and Mathematics, CAS
Add:West No.30 Xiao Hong Shan,Wuhan 430071 China
Tel:+86-27-87199543 Fax:+86-27-87199543